The technical institutes and the Riverside Vocational Technical School offer many opportunities for Arkansans who either want to enter the job market or who are looking for a change in their career.
Most programs can be completed in just one year of study, while some programs last two years. Other programs are available, with completion in six to twelve weeks.
Programs include classes to teach theories and principles involved in the particular course area, extensive, hands-on work to develop job skills, and the ability to apply theory to practice.
The technical institutes and Riverside Vocational Technical School work in partnership at the state level with the Arkansas Department of Career Education.
Crowley's Ridge Technical Institute
Burl Lieblong, President
P.O. Box 925
Forrest City, AR 72336-0925
Northwest Technical Institute
Dr. George Burch, President
P.O. Box 2000
Springdale, AR 72765-2000
Riverside Vocational Technical School
Joe Kelnhofer, Director
P.O. Box 1179
Pine Bluff, AR 71613
The technical institutes and the Riverside Vocational Technical School are accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and/or the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. Instructional programs are approved by the State Board of Career Education.
Enrollment as a full-time student is open to anyone age 17 or older. Applications for admission are available at any school. For some programs, a high school diploma or GED is required. Some programs have additional enrollment requirements.
Schools operate on a schedule of two semesters and two summer terms.
Classes are offered to allow adults who are unable to attend classes full- time to continue educational training at their convenience. Local schools offer evening classes in most training areas, and part-time enrollment in day classes is also allowed if space is available.
Tuition & Fees
Tuition and fees are established by the local institution and range from $28 to $35 per semester credit hour. Books and supplies are extra.
Financial aid is available for students who qualify. The coordinator of student services can provide assistance with financial aid information and application.
Credit for Previous Training
Credit may be allowed for previous training or related employment. A proficiency exam may be required to determine the amount of credit that can be allowed.
General Educational Development (GED®)/Arkansas High School Diploma
Adult education classes are available on campus for adults who did not complete high school. These classes offer preparation for the GED, and the Arkansas High School Diploma is awarded to adults who pass the GED.
The technical institutes and Riverside Vocational Technical School assure that no person shall, on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, or handicap be excluded from the participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving federal financial aid. This is in keeping with the guidelines of Title VI, Section 601, the Civil Rights Act of 1964; Title IX, Section 901, Educational Amendments of 1972; and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.