Arkansas Department

AWE

of Career Education

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF CAREER EDUCATION (ACE)
DRIVER EDUCATION PROGRAM STANDARDS

Guidelines:
1. Standards for Teacher Certification
a. Inorder to qualify as an instructor in driver education, a teacher must hold a valid

teaching license. He/She must attend a college approved by ACE to give credit in

driver education and complete at least six-semester hours credit in driver education.
e Driver Education | (2 semester hrs.)
e Driver Education Il (2 semester hrs.)
e First Aid (2 semester hrs.)

Test Requirements: Principles of Learning and Teaching 7-12 (minimum score —
164)

Il. Standards for Driver Education Programs for Secondary Schools
a. Approved Program
1. Consists of at least 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind-
the-wheel (BTW) instruction on public streets and highways and six hours
of in-the-car observation.
B. Frameworks

1. The student will demonstrate an understanding of Arkansas traffic laws, licensing
procedures, and other responsibilities associated with the driving privilege. Key concepts
include:

a. licensing requirements and types of licenses
b. the organ and tissue donation designation process.

2. The student will demonstrate an understanding of basic vehicle operating procedures.
Key concepts/skills include:

pre-driving procedures;

starting procedures (automatic and manual transmissions);
vehicle information, warning, and control devices;

vehicle securing procedures.

oo o

3. The student will recognize the effects of momentum, gravity, and inertia on vehicle control
and balance, and the relationship between kinetic energy and force of impact. Key
concepts/skills include:

a.seating and hand position;

b.steering, braking, and acceleration;

c.compensating for shifts in vehicle load (from side to side, front to rear, and rear to front)
that affect vehicle performance;

d.types of collisions — head-on, near-frontal, broadside, rear-end, rollover, sideswipe
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4.  The student will demonstrate the ability to manage visibility, time, and space to avoid conflicts
and reduce driving risks. Key concepts/skills include:

a.
b.

c.
d.

synthesizing information visually from the driving environment, using a space-management
process;

applying following-interval concepts;

selecting gap and judging distance;

estimating passing-time and space needs.

5. The student will demonstrate appropriate adjustments when approaching controlled and
uncontrolled intersections, curves, railroad crossings, and hills with line-of-sight or path-of-
travel limitations. Key concepts/skills include:

a.
b.
C.

roadway signs, signals, and markings;
right-of-way rules; slope/grade of terrain;
vehicle position.

6.  The student will identify the characteristics of an expressway and apply risk-reducing
expressway driving strategies. Key concepts/skills include:

a.
b.
C.

entering, merging, integrating into, and exiting from traffic flow;
managing interchanges;
selecting vehicle position and changing lanes

7. The student will demonstrate the ability to communicate presence and intentions with other
highway transportation users. Key concepts/skills include:

a.
b.

vehicle position and driver action;
vehicle communication devices.

8. The student will analyze and describe the physiological and psychological effects of alcohol
and other drugs and their impact on a driver's awareness of risks and involvement in
collisions. Key concepts include:

®op T

prescribed and over-the-counter medications;

illegal or illicit drugs;

effects of alcohol and other drugs on vision and space management;
synergistic effects of drugs;

alcohol elimination factors.

9. The student will identify and analyze the legal, health, and economic consequences associated
with alcohol and other drug use and driving. Key concepts/skills include:

oo

positive and negative peer pressure;

refusal skills;

Implied Consent, Zero Tolerance, and Use and Lose laws;

Administrative License Revocation, loss of license, ignition interlock, and other licensing
restrictions;

court costs, and insurance requirements.
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

The student will recognize the consequences of aggressive driving and other emotions that
influence driving behaviors. Key concepts include:

a. stress and anxiety;
b. anger management;
c. the relationship between aggressive driving and road rage.

The student will analyze the effects of fatigue and other physical conditions on driver
performance. Key concepts include:

short- and long-term physical and mental disabilities;
chronic health conditions;

circadian rhythms;

sleep deprivation.

apop

The student will identify distractions that contribute to driver error. Key concepts include:

a. passengers and pets;
b. vehicle accessories;
c. cell phones and other portable technology devices.

The student will identify changes in the environment that affect visibility and traction and
demonstrate and understanding of appropriate driver reaction to these risks. Key concepts/skills
include:

driving at night;

smoke- and weather-related conditions;
road conditions and construction;

vehicle stability and traction control systems.

apop

The student will demonstrate an understanding of the proper use of vehicle occupant protection
features and analyze how they reduce injury severity and increase collision survival. Key
concepts/skills include:

active restraint systems;
passive restraint systems;
child restraint systems;
highway safety design.

apow

The student will identify and evaluate emergency response strategies to reduce the severity of or
avoid a collision in high-risk driving situations. Key concepts/skills include:

evasive maneuvers,

using brake and steering combinations;
off-road recovery;

front and rear traction control.

apow

The student will identify and describe the performance characteristics of other road users and
apply problem-solving skills to minimize risks when sharing the roadway with:

a. pedestrians and animals;
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17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

pedal cycles and motorcycles;

tractor-trailers, trucks, and construction vehicles;
sport utility vehicles, recreation vehicles, and trailers;
emergency vehicles;

funeral processions;

passenger and school buses;

farm machinery and horse drawn vehicles.

S@~oa0oT

The student will compare vehicle-braking systems and explain proper braking techniques for
various weather and roadway conditions. Key concepts/skills include:

a. small and large vehicle conventional brake systems;
b. two- and four-wheel anti-lock brake systems (ABS).

The student will analyze how preventive maintenance reduces the possibility of vehicle failures
and recognize the warning signs that indicate the need for maintenance, repair, or replacement.
Key concepts/skills include:

vehicle warning devices;

lights and signals;

steering and suspension systems;
tires and braking systems;

fuel and ignition electronics.

®PopoTw

The student will identify and describe the legal aspects of and calculate the financial
responsibilities associated with purchasing, operating, maintaining, and insuring a motor vehicle.
Key concepts include:

Financial Responsibility Law;

required and optional insurance coverage;
title and vehicle registration;

vehicle inspection;

crash involvement.

®PoooTw

The student will demonstrate competency in map-reading and trip-planning skills. Key
concepts/skills include:

a. destination driving;

b. trip-planning technologies.

The student will research and evaluate personal transportation needs and their impact on the
environment, and demonstrate skills necessary to be an informed consumer. Key concepts/skills
include:

a. printed and Internet resources;

b. community resources;

c. vehicle pollution, fluid recycling, energy conservation, and conservation of natural
resources.
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C. Standards Relating to Classroom Instruction.

1. Each Student may not be involved in more than two hours of classroom instruction in any
24-hour period of time.

2. Each student must have at least 30 hours of classroom instruction.
3. No more than 30 students may be taught in any classroom setting.

4. The classroom phase of any driver education course or program shall not be completed in
less than 15 instructional days.

5. No more than five hours of the 30 hours required for the classroom phase may be devoted
to the showing of films.

D. Standards Relating to BTW Instruction.

1. The number of hours BTW instruction required depends on the type of program utilized.
However, in no case may a student successfully complete the BTW phase of driver
education with less than two hours instruction on public streets and highways.

2. No student may receive more than one hour of BTW instruction in one 24 hour period.

3. No student may complete the BTW phase of instruction in less than 12 instructional days.

4. BTW instruction must be delivered by an ADE/ACE licensed instructor with a valid
Arkansas driver’s license.

E. Standards Relating to Driver Education Students.

1. Students must be at least 14 years of age and have completed the 8t grade prior to the
beginning classroom instruction.

2. Students must obtain and have in their possession a valid learner’s permit when receiving
BTW instruction on public streets and highways.
F. Standards Relating to Driver Education Instructors.
1. Persons teaching driver education must be properly licensed to teach the course by the
Arkansas Department of Education, and hold a valid Arkansas Driver’s License.
2. Driver education instructors shall not render any driver education instruction after having
taught a total of six hours in any one 24-hour period.

G. Standards Relating to Driver Education Cars.

1. Each driver education car shall be properly equipped with a workable dual control brake for
use by the instructor.
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Each driver education car shall be clearly identified as such by a sign on each side and
rear of the car.

Each driver education car shall be properly equipped with outside mirrors, one on each
side of the car, and one instructor mirror on the inside of the car.

Each driver education car shall have an Arkansas State license tag properly attached.

Insurance coverage equal to or exceeding the specification as indicated below shall be
provided for each driver education car.

¢ Liability in the amount of 25/50/25
e Comprehensive ¢ Collision - $100 deductible
¢ Medicare Payment Rider

Other standards for Driver Education Cars.

¢ Cars shall be used exclusively for driver education purposes.

¢ A maintenance agreement between the dealer and the school district should be entered
into.

¢ The appearance of the car, both internally and externally, should be clean and neat at all
times.
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